Went shopping for a reflector today…


…and felt ripped off at every angle because at the end of the day, it was just a retractable reflector I was buying. Minimum price was $100 and it went up to several hundred there after.  Much like the beauty dish that amazed me, I did an internet search for probably the easiest photography prop to make. I ran across a few different ones, but this in particular works the best. I think I will make it with my dad next week (a great way to spend quality time with the pops). Check it out and see if your version comes the same. By the way, a reflector is your best friend on most shoots. At the very least it blocks the wind and the sun if you do not need the reflector part.

I will always support creative photography. After all it is about creativity and not so much about how much money you have. Happy holidays everyone.

Thanks to Jag’s photo blog for this one.


 

 

I have long liked the idea of the California Sunbounce, but it’s very expensive, so I decided to have a go at making my own. the frame was to be constructed from PVC tube, and fitted with a two-sided cloth cover, black on one side, and silver on the other.
Here is a brief description of the project:    


First, as I wasn’t too concerned with the overall dimensions of the finished product, the lengths to which I cut my tubes were purely arbitrary. The only measurement that mattered at this stage is the length of the handle piece, as it had to fit the frame. The lengths I cut were:

(A) 4 side pieces @ 19 3/4″
(B) 2 end pieces @ 24 3/4″
(C) 2 handle standoffs @ 3″
(D) 1 handle @ 19 1/4″

The fittings required are:
4 90 degree elbows
2 45 degree elbows
2 tees
(All the tubes and fittings are 3/4″ Schedule 40)

The only tools needed for the job are a hacksaw, a measuring tape, and a marker or a pencil.

The completed frame.

I wanted to be able either to put the reflector on a lightstand, or to be able to attach an arm with a strobe on it. To do this I got a 1/4″ x 20 coupling nut. Used for joining lengths of threaded rod, this is just like an ordinary nut but much longer. The one I got is two inches long.

I then drilled a hole on one of the tees, at a 45 degree angle to the plane of the tee, and bonded the coupling nut in place with epoxy resin adhesive. The portion of the nut sticking out from the joint will allow me to hold it with a wrench or adjustable spanner to avoid strain when affixing fittings.

Lightstand/tripod fitting with 5/8″ stud attached.

The next thing to do it make the fabric covering. I used a remnant piece of black cotton. This was cut to size, hemmed and fitted with Velcro tabs. 

Then we* stitched a piece of silver lame to one side, giving a reversible reflector/flag. (*”We” being Maggie. Thank you for your patience and help with the sewing)

Et voila! The finished reflector! And the cost? A bit under $25 – not too bad, eh?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

